Use Of Document Library In Ms SharePoint. Once you upload a file to SharePoint, it also gives you the option to notify your team that a new file has been uploaded. If there are members of your team or other persons you want to alert to the fact that this file is now available in SharePoint. You can enter their name or email address, you can add that person, and you can add multiple people if you wish. You click notify, and it'll give them a notification that the file is now available on the SharePoint Site. This file has now been uploaded. You can see drag and drop feature works just fine.
Fill the required info
Same as uploading a document you can see here in this column. About the document column that there is required info. If you want, you can click on the file and modify the description from the file properties. Whenever you select a file and click this ellipsis here. It will bring up the context menu, and when you click on more, you will see the properties option. You can enter or change any details about the properties of the documents that are necessary, you can see. There's a red asterisk here because it's a required field name. It's the official default name of the document.
However, you can change the title of a document in the SharePoint site to whatever you wish it to be, and any changes made here auto-save. You don't need to specifically click any kind of save Button. As you can see, the required info alert is gone. The description we just wrote is here, so one of the main advantages of SharePoint is that. It allows groups of people to work on the same document at the same time. Let's use this excel file that we uploaded earlier as an example, me and another user want to update this document at the same time. Now there could be a conflict when I make changes to this file, and another user makes different changes to this file.
explore variety of Features in Ms SharePoint
To show you how to check in a document and publish the changes that you've made. As you can see here, it is auto-saving my changes. Once it says save I can safely close this tab, so I'm going to refresh this page, and you can open the document. Again just to confirm that the changes have been saved. If you want to and we can see here, the entry we recently added is still there. So I'm going to close this tab, and I'm going to check this document back in now the other users won't see any changes you have made. To this document un-less or until you check it back in checking-in essentially works like publishing. It's when you make the content available to the other users as well.
Use Of Document Library In Ms SharePoint & Check In & Out Option
Now we are back in this more menu, and you can see two options here. You've got a check-in or discard check out. If you click discard check out here, all the changes you have made to a document will be undone. The document will revert to how it was before you checked it out. All changes will be erased. Click check in now. When you click check-in, it will ask you for some comments about what was changed in the document. Since you checked it out. So here you can just add some comments regarding those changes. The other users will know what has changed in the document this is an optional step. If you don't want to add any changes or any comments you can just click check-in.
Because we still have a required field here about the document field. This document wasn't successfully checked in. So when you're checking in a Document. You need to make sure all the information is filled in in the required Fields for it to be successful. So I am going to edit this file's properties and put in some information about the document. Now I'm going back to check in the document, and it should check in successfully, now it says check in one item is done, and you can see that the small red icon that was appearing here is now gone. The changes we made to this document will now be visible to everyone. That's how checking in and checking out works in SharePoint. These are Use of Document Library in Ms SharePoint.